The Understated Beauty of Sobella Handbags

Hello! I know it has been quite a while since my last post. Things on campus have been hectic as of late with finals prep and now finals week is already here! It is amazing how quickly this semester has flown by.

A few days ago, I was browsing some favorite clothing and accessories websites including Gilt and BlueFly. For a few months, I have been in the market for a non-school bag (preferably) made of luxurious leather and with elegant simple metal hardware in either a satchel and tote style with both top handles and a shoulder strap.  I came across this fabulous Carlos Falchi metallic faux leather satchel (retailing for $385) that was priced at less than $200 (link for Gilt.com has expired so I am included the BlueFly link):

Carlos Falchi “Slim Poof” bronze snakeskin satchel

I was nearly sold, but then I found this bag on BlueFly (Retail value of $185) for less than $150 (including shipping!):

Sobella San Marco Tote

The bag is absolutely gorgeous. The Italian designer boasts high quality Italian leather, aesthetically pleasing designs and craftsmanship. The simplicity and clean curves of this bag’s shape drew my eye to it on the page of 50+ handbags on the BlueFly website. I immediately “Yes’d!” It aloud and clicked on it, hoping for a reasonable price. I was extremely pleased when I saw its price and the markdown.

So, naturally, I ordered the tote in the camel/brown leather color and for less than $10 standard shipping, it was extremely fast. I placed the order around 10 pm last Wednesday (Dec 9th) and received it December 11th on Friday afternoon. After dashing through 28 degree winter weather to the campus post office to pick it up before closing (and whilst finishing up 10-15 page final papers for classes!) I was elated to open this package and see the product I had purchased. It was a fantastic find and I know that it will be a versatile and valuable accessory for many years to come. Its simplicity lends itself to be useful in a number of occasions including casual dinners and luncheons–even days milling around campus when not encumbered with a stack of notebooks, laptop, and  textbooks.

These bags are not exceedingly expensive and are timeless in their designs. I hope to see an expansion in their upcoming collections!

I would love to hear what you all think of these bags and your personal styles when picking handbags to purchase.

If you’re still making it through finals week, hang in there! There is the light at the end of the tunnel (and a table of delicious holiday foods with family and friends!)

Cheers,

Madame Sui Generis

One response to “The Understated Beauty of Sobella Handbags

  1. I loved this info? Anyway, thanks so much for the cool link! It’s been favorited for future design inspiration. 😉

Leave a Reply

